Stowe Energy Committee

The Stowe Energy Committee makes recommendations to the Selectboard, the Planning Commission, and the Town Manager regarding Town policy on energy-related matters. They also work with residents, businesses, second homeowners and visitors and the Town to promote energy education and awareness, reduce energy consumption, improve the efficiency of energy used, promote renewable energy generation, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.  

The Committee identifies opportunities and makes recommendations to the appropriate Town officials and committees regarding energy conservation and efficiency, non-fossil energy sources and pollution and reduction that address the environmental and fiscal benefits to the Town government, residents and businesses.

The Committee educates the citizens and property owners of the Town about energy conservation, alternative energy sources and other sustainability measures, and increases public awareness of energy issues and builds public support for energy efficiency and sustainable energy policies. The SEC devises and implements programs in support of those measures with the assistance of other volunteers.

The Energy Committee meets the 4th Thursday of each month at 5:30 pm in the Akeley Memorial Building (Town Hall) Memorial Hall, located at 67 Main Street.

Appointed Officials -

Catherine Crawley, Chair
Cap Chenowith
Marina Meerburg
Elizabeth Soper
Robi Artman-Hodge
Andrew Rianhard
Julia Biedermann, Student Representative